Seriously?

By MerrilHope

Whole Lotta Love

Waiting in the wings at today's final rehearsal, tomorrow is Dehan's last 'Lise Live'* before graduating in June. A very fine trumpet player and one of several Seniors I will sorely miss. Happens annually.

My day was saturated in student music performance and I am exhausted. Our lunchtime concert of French and German music for the 'Foreign Languages Day' was sublime. Piano, violin, voice, including Mozart, Beethoven, Debussy, Massennet, wonderful. Then, after school rehearsal for tomorrow's 'Lise Live XXVII' concert. Auditions over the last two days have led to the usual mixed bag including the Led Zeppelin classic which I still like just as much as I did the first time round when I was younger than the students are who played it today :)

Watching such a variety of wonderful musical performances from these extraordinary students, I was forcefully reminded of how important music is in our lives, what ever kind of music it might be that we enjoy; how much I love my job; and, how much I love these kids. Every year.

For the record: Istanbul today was cold, dry, overcast but bright so like most teenagers, very moody @ 9ºC with 15 m/h North wind.

* Lise=6th form/High School.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.