barbarathomson

By barbarathomson

Hexham Abbey

Interesting though it was, after a full second day of conflict management training I thought I would spend an hour doing something less excoriating to the soul and visit Hexham Abbey on the way home. The honey coloured stones of the old town were very soothing and fortuitously, I arrived in time for Choral Evensong. Jonah was in process of being spewed out of the whale to chastise the sinful people into repenting and mending their ways.  It made me wonder if the Arctic Char at Ennerdale would facilitate conversion of all the fly tippers, fire-raisers and illegal campers about the Lakeside into model citizens, without the need for confrontation.
it was very restful though to sit in the centre of the aisles and listen to words and worship that had been sung  in similar form  for a 1000 years. although now the majority of the choir were girls rather than boys. 
Afterwards I found the cafe for the sports centre just closing but they kindly gave me a free cup of coffee.and I drove back wide awake  with a red sunset turning the Northumberland uplands a dusky pink and arrived at dusk at Whinlatter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.