Chest Tubes and the Boston Marathon

Just your average tax day.. spent the afternoon in the Sim Lab learning how to insert chest tubes (as I caught Ashley about to do in this photo), start IVs, give injections (SQ, IM, Intradermal), and perform lumbar punctures.

It wasn't until I got home and sat down on my couch with my computer in my lap that I saw the news: two bombs went off at the finish line at the Boston Marathon a couple of hours earlier. My bestie said all her of friends and runners she knew of were safe and accounted for. It could have been worse.. it could have been worse.
A quote from Mister (Fred) Rogers filled my facebook feed from every corner of the world. Another about targeting the wrong group of people: marathoners. All true and appropriate. This was devastating. Shocking. Shattering.
I was so far away from it in my apartment in Texas.. but my friends were closer. I love Boston. I love that Stephanie is no longer IN Boston. Had she been.. she probably would have been running in it like she was last year. I don't have any idea on how long it takes her to finish marathons, but I don't want to think about close calls. I abhor bombings...senseless violence...evil, hatred, etc. Who doesn't? I don't have anything to say about today other than I'm praying.
I'm praying for the hearts of people who resort to doing acts of violence like this. That's the only thing I can do. Nothing I can say or do or write will change anyone's mind who thinks that doing something like this is a great idea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.