on the road towards Loch na Keal

... and the scenery is about to change dramatically.  It has a winding cliff side road that would not look amiss in any James Bond novel (I couldn't stop there or at least I didn't).  I always find myself leaning in towards the cliff base on those kinds of roads.  It was on the stretch that I encountered white top waves, something I haven't seen all week.  Fortunately I didn't meet any cars coming the other way. (Mull is nearly all single track roads apart from a motorway stretch where there is a single lane in each direction between Salen and Craignure.  

A bit of a tiring wait as I got to the ferry terminal by 2 pm for the 4 o'clock sailing.  At least I got to close my eyes for a bit, but I was still very tired by the time I arrived in Oban.

I did go to check out the ruined boats but the very heavy rain at that time didn't look enticing and I'd already messed one camera up in rain when I went to Harris.

But the highlight of my afternoon was that I saw an otter swimming under the ferry pier.  At first I thought it was a bird (a dark blob on the very grey water) and then I thought seal and finally I saw it was an otter.  So no photo but that doesn't matter.

p.s. at least the rain brought out the colours -the deep grey of the sky and the orange of the bracken.

Just to add I'm quite enjoying being here  in the Premier Inn on my own again and not having to contemplate food still arriving at a time that I'd usually be thinking about wending my way to bed.  I also need to say that I've had an amazing time and it's been good travelling the journey with Iain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.