Living in Brabant

By AilsaR

For eternity....

Went to Zumba class after work; we had a new teacher; fast, furious, she moved like dynamite, smiling and laughing all the time. She put me in mind of a young Kylie, crossed with Kung Fu Panda and Road Runner. She was great.

Cycled back home, made a small detour to photograph this benkske.

It's situated next to the (rock) concert hall in town. A new band had arrived; roadies were unloading. All male, all extremely hairy and tattoed and studded with piercings. My powers of deduction told me it wasn't a jazz band playing tonight. [On edit: I've just remembered, it's part of a three day rock festival]

An elderly lady came up and asked me the time, I noticed her arm was in a sling (hard to look at your wrist-watch when you're all tied up), and we started talking (of course!)

She asked why I was photographing the benkske (of course!), and when I told her of my interest in them, she said that she knew the people who made them (of course!) and told me where I could find the one they personally made, with the handprints of all the family on it.

I told her I loved these benkskes, she agreed (of course!) (Until now, I've not met anyone who has disagreed with me. And this, in a town where people speak their mind, for better or for worse, is really something).

She didn't want to say how she came to have her arm in a sling, so I didn't press her. Her taxi arrived and off she went.
By the way, the text says 'voor altijd' = for eternity. How lovely.
Take a closer look, it's worth it, I promise.

Arriving home, my neighbour was just leaving the house to walk his dog. I asked how his kittens were getting on (I knew they'd been born three weeks ago), he invited me in to come and see them. They're bonny.

Together with his partner they also have a parrot , a dog, and of course the cats. A wonderful menagerie.

Apart from the first paragrah, all the above happened in the space of 30 minutes. If that.

Things can happen fast, sometimes. And how wonderful these cherished moments can be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.