This is the day

By wrencottage

Productive Day

Having been up since 6.00 am in order to be bright eyed and bushy tailed for the 8.00 am arrival of a carpenter who was coming to sort out a few doors for us, it has seemed quite a long day! However, we now have some beautifully mended doors and I made the most of the early start to get lots done while the carpenter was working his way around the house.

I am pleased to report that I had made these eight boxes of five photo notelets by 9.45 am, which I will take up to church with some others tomorrow morning and pop in the card stand in the Atrium café. I then did some boring jobs, after which we were rewarded by a visit from our son and our four year old granddaughter for a couple of hours, which was great fun.

Later this afternoon I photographed every page of an ancient photograph album belonging to my grandfather, who died before I was born (see extra). He was a keen amateur photographer, who took his camera with him to India when his regiment was sent there in 1914, and somehow he managed to develop all the films whilst there. The album is falling to pieces and the front cover has come off which is a shame, but it’s also a help because it means I can lay the pages on my flat bed scanner without breaking the spine of the book. I will scan every page very carefully which will be a long job because the album pages are bigger than the bed of the scanner, so I will have to do two scans per page. Never mind, it will be a labour of love for me because I will then be able to edit the photos and bring out their detail better. In my dreams I take the album to The Repair Shop and Christopher Shaw, the lovely bookbinder man, takes it apart, restores and renovates every page, then re-binds it for me! I wish …

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.