Sauvie Island Birthday Celebration

I gave her two books: a collection of Alice Neel paintings and Living with Thunder, a geologic history of the Pacific Northwest, which I learned about in someone's blip (please claim if it was yours; I thought it was NannaK, but apparently not). While Sue was looking at Alice Neel, I popped over to the bakery for quiche and coffee cake for our breakfast. While I was in the shower, she made a mandala for the day with fallen petals, but it was so windy she had to hold the petals down with crystals and bits of bark from her garden (extra).

We spent the rest of the day out on Sauvie Island.

Lush, wet, dramatic-sky day. Tap of raindrops on Sturgeon Lake and on our raincoats. Sunbursts and bird song. A few cows with frisky calves. There must have been rainbows, but we didn't see them. Quiet private bliss, just the two of us. My kind of birthday party.

Thank you all for the love for her dear face and her pre-birthday party at her sister's house yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.