Scribbler

By scribbler

There is loss, there is gain

A tree falls in the urban forest. Exciting but poignant to watch leafy branches drop to the ground. I stop to take a few pictures.

On the sidewalk across from St. Philip the Deacon Episcopal Church, three people are watching. Two of them have brought out picnic chairs. As I walk past the observers I smile and say, "You folks have front-row seats."

They eagerly explain why they're there. They are the senior warden, the junior warden, and the pastor of St. Philip's. The tree roots have been pushing up the sidewalk in front of their church, resulting in expensive repairs. "The last one cost $3,500." They're a poor parish, so the tree has to go.

"Understandable, but it's still sad," I say. "May she rest in peace, and may light perpetual shine upon her." They smile as they recognize this familiar prayer from their liturgy.

"We prayed for that tree. We laid hands on that tree. That tree has been blessed," they chorus. They're saving the wood for various uses, including crosses.


This conversation has had me thinking all day about giving things up for the sake of a higher priority. There is loss, there is gain. "Unless a seed falls into the ground and dies, it remains alone; but if it dies, it bears much fruit." May the sacrifice of this tree bring forth good to the good people of St. Philip the Deacon.

---------------------------------------------------
NOTE FROM THE NEWBIE

BIG THANKS to all who are viewing and reading my work, and especially to those who take the time to register their enthusiasm. I have been a solitary poet, artist, and writer for a good many years, preferring to spend my energies producing rather than publishing. Ultimately, though, the art isn't complete until it is received by another. Blipfoto seems to be a wonderful venue for that.

I am very new to this, and a bit fearful of being overwhelmed by subscriptions, subscribers, and the attraction (but also duty) of being in touch with so many kind, interesting, and talented people! I'm no longer able to travel but have friends throughout the world, and am happy to add Blippers near and far.

But be patient with me, please. For now, I will mostly resort to group responses like this until I get the rhythm and see what I can reasonably accomplish. At the moment, my goal is simply to blip every day for a month, if I can. I also plan to make a special effort to look at the blips of anyone who has responded to mine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.