If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

European rabbit ( Oryctolagus cuniculus )

Currently, we have half a dozen "Bunnies" dashing round the garden.  The adults were being seen at times over the winter so I suppose the result was inevitable.

When I went out to fill the bird feeders, as always I came round the corner very slowly and quietly.  A series of vertical take-off Pheasants can startle me even when I know they may be there!  Sure enough, there were a couple of Pheasants who stalked haughtily away.   A single young rabbit was out nibbling, so back into the house for a camera.  I then took a series of shots as I moved up the path until I was about 3 m (10 feet) away.  I deccided that was close enough so that is the blip.

Nobody knows when Rabbits were introduced to the UK but it is known they were in the country in Roman times possibly as pets.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.