thismomruns

By thismomruns

#runforboston

As I have continued on my journey as a runner, I have added many Facebook pages dedicated to running to my list of "likes". I find inspiration and encouragement from these groups of strangers. Monday, I also found solace. As much as Monday's attack was a hit on Boston, it was an attack on my new little community. My little community was hit hard and the strength of the community became evident very quickly. Everyone and every group wanted no, needed to do something with impact.

One group designed memorial t-shirts, another designed shoe charms and yet another decided the best thing to do was run... So we did. Today. April 17th was to be #runforboston day. No matter the distance or the time we were to run to show support for our fellow runners. What started out at as a grass roots effort in College Station, Texas, quickly went viral and worldwide. Runners from all over the globe posted their #runforboston pictures.

Runners are a special group of people. Runners - 1, Terrorists - 0

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.