Dirait-on

My last morning in New York, tired and happy, I wandered around the neighborhood--Riverside Drive and 125th Street. I took some Vivian Maier-style pictures, tried to soak up as much New York energy as I could possibly hold, and then thought I'd just pop in to see Riverside Church again. The doors were open, and to my complete surprise and great delight, a wonderful high school choir was rehearsing Morten Lauridsen's gently meditative piece, "Dirait-on." The audience was only a couple of parents with iPads, two Buddhist monks, and me. A perfect ending to a perfect trip. The choir director is at the top of her game: funny, sharp, intense, and yet able to direct and command over a hundred teenagers. You'd have to search hard and long to find anybody who works harder than high school teachers in the arts, and I am endlessly thankful for them.

Now I'm back home, so tired I'm cross-eyed, and as happy as I've ever been in my life. I was expecting my son to meet me at the airport and yet another surprise! Bella came with him. Joy in every direction.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.