kettwigefrau

By kettwigefrau

The Frog of Failure

Last night was expats quiz night and I don't know what quizmaster Andy had been on when he compiled the questions but I certainly hope he doesn't do that again.

The questions were so hard even the reigning quiz queen Emma got her first sub 20 score in a long time (it could be her first sub ever, but I could easily be wrong as I don't have the brain for trivia that she does).

Kristi (another blipper) and I teamed up last night and despite doing very badly we did come away with a prize (well, I did, she left the Lindt frog for me) this was because of a new rule - the first team to get a line of answers completely wrong gets a prize, and the irony was that it wasn't even the line where we'd been stashing all our really wrong answers (although that was eventually a line of Xs too!)

The picture round was especially hard (for non Americans) as it was baseball team emblems, left to my own devices I'd have got none of those right, but fortunately Kristi is American. The round about Thatcher was...challenging, I knew she grew up in Grantham but do I know what county it's in? At least I had a head start on the Yanks who don't understand the geographical divisions of England. And as for the round on longitude and lattitude...nightmare.

This defeat wont stop us going back next week though, it's quiz night in German, even more of a challenge, maybe I can win another frog?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.