Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

The Altos

Some of the sweetest folks I know are altos. Case in point: the alto section from the Allegra Women's Choir, seen here after today's sectional. Left to right - Charlene, Mary, Karen, and me.

Being a sophisticated lot, we are quite familiar with the alto humor making the rounds out there. For instance,

Q: How many altos does it take to screw in a lightbulb?
A: None. They can't get that high.

In my case, that is very true. Left to my naturally lazy tendencies, my voice will quickly gravitate below middle C where it feels most safe and secure. However, if I implement the vocal techniques taught to us by Ann, our choral director, I can, admittedly venture nearly an octave higher than my comfort zone.

We have several performances coming up, with the primary performance on May 11th in Bellingham. We've got extra rehearsals scheduled, and a lot of work to do in order to be ready, but I can guarantee a lively, and passionate show for all who can attend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.