Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Bluebells again

Today was a busy day. I took Xena for a longer walk than planned, and we saw so many bluebells so of course I took more photos. It was then a big rush to get to the hairdresser, and as she is not nearby I only got home after 2pm so had a late lunch.

After lunch I had several errands to do, including going to vote, going to the Post Office to return an order, popping in to the stationers to buy birthday cards, pick up a click and collect order and then finally go to a member of the camera club's house to pick up her entries for the print competition on Monday (as she was going away today on holiday). I was also meant to go to RHS Wisley to buy some gift vouchers for a friend's birthday but in the end ran out of time and so ordered them online, which they will post to me.

When I went to vote it was a bit chaotic as there was no parking, as I had timed it badly with the end of school pickup - I drove around and around and eventually decided to give up, but as I drove out past the candidates I told them there was absolutely no where to park so I was going...they quickly jumped around and moved traffic cones and directed where I could park so I could go in to vote. I guess they are anxious for people to vote and will help in any way they can, as we have such a low voting rate for a local council election. 

I have a busy weekend in London coming up. Tomorrow evening Gavin and I are going to the opera to see Don Pasquale (we missed our opera outing last month when we had Covid but were given credit notes which I have used for this show). However on Saturday and Sunday I have a two day photography workshop with Jay Vulture, it starts at 8am and finishes at 6pm so I, and my friend who is also doing the workshop,  have decided to come home each night rather than stay in London. I did not realise that our local station runs a limited timetable on the weekend, so I cannot get to London by 8am as the first train leaves too late. As it will be a late night after the opera finishes, Gavin and I have decided to stay in London for one night and the next morning I can then get across to the city by 8am, while he goes home again. We will be like ships passing in the night as when I get home on Saturday night, Gavin will be out at a work retirement function for a colleague. On Sunday morning I have to drive to a station about three villages away as none of the nearby stations have trains leaving early enough for me to get to London by 8am. I have spent ages planning the routes I need to take as the trains all seem to run on different schedules on the weekend, but hopefully it all goes according to plan. Xena will spend tomorrow night with Fiona which she will enjoy as she loves Fiona's Vizsla.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.