Hyperion

By Hyperion

Wild Beauty

There is a walk on western Dartmoor that I have had in my sights for some time. It starts at Mary Tavy and is about 7 miles in total. I decided this morning it was time to do it. The walk connects areas I know with ancient and little used paths. On one particularly attractive stretch through oak woodland close to the River Tavy I came across these flowers. I think they are water avens, but if they are not, someone will probably put me right. Holding the camera steady was made easier by sitting down and resting the camera on my knee. I only had the standard telephoto lens that came with the camera, and was not optimistic though about getting a sharp image. End result not perfect but it did turn out better than I hoped. Thrilled also to hear several cuckoos today, and to finally get a view of one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.