Living my dream

By Mima

Tools

It's yet another sunny warm day (this might be boring soon - for you, but not for me, nor for the Bean-dog).

And in an unexpected turn of events I'm at home all day. I had been expecting to garden elsewhere again this morning. 

In the spirit of doing things steadily I've been tackling a few different jobs, each of which requires different brain cells and muscles.

One task has been to continue removing old compost from the raised beds, dig them over, water them thoroughly, then add new compost and water again before covering with weedmat. I completed the new season's broadbean bed last week and am now half way through the new garlic bed. 

The main photo shows the garlic bed in the foreground, the broadbean bed behind it. Beyond that are the three compost bins, with the old orchard behind - the apricot trees in full autumn glory.

The eagle-eyed may realise that there are still courgette plants growing on what is about to become a garlic bed. Indeed, these are causing some mild irritation. Only mild. It is remarkable to be harvesting courgettes in May and I'm not about to pull up the plants before they've properly done their dash. Half of the seed garlic will have to wait a wee while to be sown. 

I'm growing a combination of 50:50 conventional garlic and elephant garlic this year. I grew the latter for the first time last year and discovered that I love the slightly milder and sweeter flavour. The fact that they grew more enormous than I'd expected was also something in their favour. 

To the right of the photo is the fruit cage, where Sanabanana's ashes were scattered earlier in the week.

The extra is the garlic bed from a different angle, showing its position in relation to the tunnel house. In there the peppers and chillies are just coming on stream: quite late this year, probably thanks to the miserable first summer. They are nevertheless numerous and delicious.

In order to rest most of my muscles and to use the creative half of my brain I shall spend the remainder of the day writing a weekly missive, then I shall work on some small gift-card paintings which are gradually taking shape. 

A good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.