simisue

By simisue

HUMMINGBIRD MAGNET

SALVIA gregii (Autumn Sage) is not the most dramatic perennial in my new front garden; but, but it blooms Spring through Autumn & is well suited to its hot, sunny new environment. The spicy fragrance & bright color attracts Hummingbirds.

This soft mounding shrub, native to Texas & Mexico has been extensively hybridized & comes in many colors, including this pink, red, white, lavender, apricot, & violet.
I love all the various cultivars names:
“Hot Lips,” “Coronado Pink,” “Cherry Chief,” “Desert Pastel,” “Strawberries & Cream.”

In the UK, the cultivars
Salvia X jamensis “Javier,”
& “Peter Vidgeon” have been awarded the Royal Horticultural Award of Merit.

I recently read the spent flowers need to
be regularly deadheaded, so I was out there today doing just that. I noticed the spicy
scent that seemed to coming from the leaves. I have seen Hummingbirds in
the vicinity.

The trio of these beauties seem
quite content in their new home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.