The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Seend Cleeve (Thursday 5th May 2022)

By lunchtime I'd given up waiting for the surgery to ring a day later than promised and needed to get out. So after Refna had left, following an enjoyable Woody Thursday, I set off with a picnic Meal Deal and parked at Bollands Hill bridge, and sat on a bench beside the Kennet and Avon to watch the narrowboats go by. I've had relatively few canal visits so far this year. The hawthorn was in blossom and there were some large buttercups (I don't think they were marsh marigolds but could be wrong). A grey wagtail landed but was out of range.

I'd arranged to visit C. later on and we sat in her conservatory birdwatching (starlings, blackbirds, pigeons, magpies) and enjoyed the company of Loki, in the conservatory and outside.

As I've been blipping the garden almost daily and blipped Loki a week ago, I chose a canal landscape for my blip.

The surgery rang twice within a minute while I was out that afternoon on a Withheld number and left no message (although I've made it clear they can) and didn't ring again.

L.
Saturday 7.5.2022 (1525 hr)

Blip #3650 (#3400 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #010
Blips/Extras In 2022 #088/265 + #031/100 Extras
Day #4426 (1030 gaps from 26.3.2010)
LOTD #2794 (#2634 + 160 in archived blips)

Seend Cleeve series
Canals series
Kennet and Avon Canal series
Landscape series
Outdoor Places I Have Sat In series

A Canal Walk At Bollands Hill, 5 May 2022 (Flickr album of 15 photos)
C's Cats, 5 May 2022 (Flickr album of 6 photos)

Taken with Pentax KS-1 (Blue) and Pentax smc P-DA* 55mm F1.4 SDM prime lens

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Dionne Warwick - Don't Make Me Over (recorded 18 August 1962, Bell Sound Studios, New York NY)
My day ended listening to Gideon Coe's excellent Radio 6 show. He played this early feminist anthem, a precursor to Lesley Gore's You Don't Own Me. Written by Burt Bacharach and Hal David this became the debut single by Dionne Warwick and was the start of a long and successful relationship between her and them. The background vocals were by the Gospelaires, featuring her sister Dee Dee Warwick, Sylvia Shemwell and Cissy Houston (her aunt).


One year ago:
The Woodland Garden

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.