24hrs....

...in Worthing

Yesterday didn't start well. I managed to get some sort of plant sap in my eye which caused it to swell and my contact lens to stick to my eye. I managed to wash that out with lots of saline but have had to wear my glasses since then as my eye has been sore. It seems ok now, just a bit pink still.

I also got bitten, twice on the same arm, by  Blandford flies, apparently prevalent right now. I've been bitten by them before, they are common at my allotments, and I'm quite allergic to them. My arm is swollen from wrist to elbow and will probably stay like that for a couple more days.

BA also cancelled one of our holiday flights and haven't yet given us an alternative. The return is still valid, and the hotel, we just can't get there at the moment. They really are an awful airline.

All of that was before 11 o'clock. 

Himself and I had planned a very spur of the moment trip to Worthing in the afternoon and overnight to see what it's all about. I was feeling very sorry for myself and if we hadn't had pre booked the train tickets and paid for the hotel  we probably wouldn't have gone.

I'm glad we did as it's a lovely town. A bit like a smaller and much more chilled Brighton and definitely not Croydon by the Sea. We found loads of great pubs (and dogs, see yesterday) and had a very nice meal in a local bistro. Himself went Parkrunning this morning (my eye / arm meant I thought it better not to) and we walked around loads. I found an old school friends (he of Death in Vegas fame) daughter's tattoo shop (in extra) and we tried another couple of micro pubs and bars. One of the owners also knew someone (different) I went to school with. 

I'm home now and quite tired.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.