skelfs

By tfb

Abandoned machine tools

It seems surprising that, when the programme was liquidated, the many precision machine tools were not sold off but rather left, as here, to rust. Perhaps it was felt, should they be sold, that something about them would reveal the former uses to which they had been put. Perhaps also it was simply incompetence on the part of the English government and its agents: something in no short supply.

The site was curiously active today: walking past the still intact vehicle assembly building there was a clear sound of electrical machinery operating within. After some hesitation I decided to try to gain entrance in the hope of finally encountering those people – or, perhaps, not-quite-people – who so obviously now occupy the site, doing I know not what.

As I approached the building all sound from within ceased: rotating machinery spinning down. Clearly I had been seen. Entering against my better judgement through a small side door held closed merely with a bolt (few venture here: security is assured both by the stories that circulate still and by the residual radiation levels) I beheld ... nothing. Perhaps a glimpse of a flywheel still in slight motion in the distance, a belt still vibrating or a thin spiral of steam and smoke from a recently-quenched furnace but no other signs of activity or inhabitants.

However it is clear that there has been recent activity here: the machinery is well-oiled, repairs and replacements have been made. Indeed the very structure of the building seems to have been repaired.

I did not venture far into the vast gloom, and did not ascend to any of the many higher platforms: to do so alone seemed foolish as it was clear I was being watched and it seemed unlikely that the observers were altogether friendly even if they were not overtly hostile.

Half-visible in the twilight were three vast shapes towering into the upper reaches of the huge building. Draped, I think, in sheeting: clearly protection against dust but, also clearly protection from prying eyes. I will not here speculate on what I think they may be although my readers will no doubt draw the same conclusions I have. I confess myself surprised, alarmed, but also pleased to see them, still (or again) intact, if they are indeed what I believe them to be.

Little disturbance last night. The remains of the thing I shot two nights ago were gone in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.