Livresse

By Livresse

PSKC

Portobello Sailing and Kayaking Club - with coastal rowing too - is the club I belong to for rowing. Today we had a whole club event to (re)launch a fundraiser camping for a club house. As well as the usual bake sale and tombola, we also ran taster sessions for each other. The sea was definitely not good for beginners but we were with experienced people. I spend over an hour in a rowing boat with  beginners (in 20 minutes rotation). Then I had a go at sea kayaking. I have kayaked several times before and go on my inflatable as well but never in the sea. By then, the sea was not suitable for rowing anymore, but kayaking was still okay. I loved it! 
Then, I went on to a trial sailing, by then the sea was really borderline.. We took for ever launching, with the help of another experienced sailer and about 10minutes in, we capsized! I failed to get back on the boat and ended up on the lifeboat that was accompanying us.... Soaked though (no dry or wet suit) . I think I was a little hypothermic, a bit dizzy, nauseous and very forgetful...but never felt really in danger.
That was taken during the"serious talk" bit - people were having fun, honest! I just don't have photos of the day since I was busy or in water most of the time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.