Gardening

I am finding gardening quite stressful at the moment which is surely not the point. My garden has good bones, so interesting things reliably turn up, but it is also very overgrown and full of wildflowers/weeds depending on where they are. My own few flourishes have also largely returned, where they haven’t been smothered in alkanet.  

Oh well, the overgrown look at this time of year is a tumble of new growth and colour and the wildlife seem happy, I disturbed a blackbird on her nest when I was thinking of cutting back a huge curtain of erigeron beside what I might laughably call the rose bed.  So that’s an area to avoid.  And in the morning we heard a cuckoo in the fields about repeatedly calling as it circled the area. Thrilling! 

How does anyone find time to manage a large garden and work (i know poor me) Shall I just fill it with cosmos and dahlias and enjoy a sun gold summer? .  

Still a cup of tea at the small table,  looking at the late afternoon sun was rather golden. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.