Grey Heron

The young one flew over from the water this morning (the crow had already followed me in from near the entrance). They both had their fish and headed their separate ways. 
This afternoon the young one flew over and I started to feed her. She wandered over to a little bit of the loch which has water overflowing. I followed her over and started throwing her fish into the water, which she prefers. Unfortunately a dog had it's idiot out off the lead and he walked over to peer over my shoulder to see what was happening. When the dog came to get him back the young one got a fright and took off over the fence round the loch. I continued to feed her over the fence as the idiot bounded off followed by his dog.  The crow was back by this time and got a bit off sardine and two biscuits. It ate the sardine but buried the biscuits.  I have seen it do this before and was quite amazed to learn that they can accurately remember up to 200 locations where they have left food. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.