Ascent communications station (remains)

Telemetry was received and flight commands transmitted from antennae and other equipment mounted on this platform, a few miles distant from the launch site for safety but with line-of sight communications to vehicles in launch configuration. I was not able to gain access to the top, but I believe that nothing now remains but the plinth on which the equipment rested.

The antenna to the left is a recent addition: perhaps some enterprising person has decided to use the plinth – well-sited as it is – for a TV antenna. Or perhaps there is some other reason: perhaps plans are in place to use the site for some new purpose, or even the same purpose?

The followers are now only playing at concealment: clearly they now know that I know they are watching me and, perhaps, that I am in turn watching them. Two were on the bus this morning I am almost certain. I expect a more direct encounter soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.