Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

A moment of quiet contemplation

Two of my last four blips have been of people's backs... I'd normally aim for a bit more variety than that but this picture seemed right for today.

I'm not a football fan by any stretch of the imagination but it's impossible to have lived in Liverpool for as long as I have and not to have been touched and inspired by the campaign to seek justice for the 96 Liverpool supporters who died at Hillsborough 24 years ago.

Last weekend a memorial to the victims was unveiled in the city centre and today came the news that the tireless Hillsborough campaigner Anne Williams, whose 15 year old son Kevin died in the tragedy, had died herself.

This man, lost in thought as he contemplated the new Hillsborough memorial, seemed to me to reflect the mood of so many across the world at the moment dealing with the tragic and unexpected loss of loved ones.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.