Transitoire

By Transitoire

C?est quoi, cette chanson?

Meet Julien, Adrien and Gaelle attempting to figure out the song playing from the introduction. Gotta love the grain in this photograph! We all met by chance at the entrance of Chef Raide so it seemed logical to go in and share a table. This turned into sharing an evening and many verres. There were more than four of us of course, around the middle section of the night we were around eight plus ou moins. The best number for an evening, small enough to find a table in a bar yet big enough to be able to chat with lots of different people. So every Monday in Chef Raide there is a Blind Test (and yes, it is itialicised because that is what they call it in French) where there is a theme (e.g. house, drugs) and every song in its title has something to do with that theme. The intros to each song are played and you have to guess the name and title of the song. Now every time there was an English song, everyone turned to me...I mean, I know I'm English and all - but I am most definitely not an expert on all English songs! Even with my poor performance we did...pas mal (not badly), finding ourselves somewhere in the middle of the points table! After Chef Raide we were going to head to the Café Polyglotte (language café) but somehow took a detour to chez Adrien for a while before heading up to Café Kitsch to find we were rather late (although I did get to say hey to Shwetabh!)...so the consensus of course was to go to Le Vertigo and share a pichet or two of embuscade. Of course, the best decisions are made when slightly pompette! Lovely evening had by all, but I am guessing that I will be regretting another late night tomorrow morning when I have to get up...

School day was long, and started before it should have. Turns out I wasn't needed for my first lesson, so I could have had another hour in bed! Oh well, c'est pas grave. My troisième INTER class was lovely as usual, and my cinquième INTER class was cancelled in favour of going to CAF with my responsable to try and find out why, even after them saying my form was done, I still hadn't received the money. Turns out apparently I "hadn't given in" another piece of information (I'd given it in three times already)...but fingers crossed I now have a date for when my first payment should arrive. On verra. My troisième club for the last time was a little sad, but I entertained them with Flight of the Conchords and Eddie Izzard...which they absolutely loved. It is great when you find something that really clicks with the class! For the two hours after, we watched and worked on 'Bang! You're Dead' - the Hitchcock film. And my god can he pack some tension into half an hour of black and white film. The general story is about five-year-old Jackie who has a problem: the other children of the neighbourhood won't play with him because he doesn't have a gun like their own. He finds himself a gun in his well-travelled uncle's suitcase (as you do!) and goes out with it, thinking it is a gift (and not real!) Jackie goes outside without anyone realizing he has a weapon, and walks around the neighbourhood, taking play shots with the gun, and pulling off the trigger several times while aiming at innocent people. As he continues to put more and more bullets in the gun, the risk gets greater. Returning home, Jackie aims the gun at the maid who won't play with him, and just as Rick - who, along with Jackie's parents, has been frantically searching for the boy - arrives, the gun goes off...and I'm not going to say the ending! You could tell it was good as there was not a noise from any of the students! And that was it for today...what is normally quite a long day turned into a quite relaxing one.

Still doesn't seem real that this is my last week...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.