Truly Blippin' Marvelous

By JohnEdward

Nobody on the road

 " . . . . 'Did you happen to meet any soldiers, my dear, as you came through the wood?'
     'Yes, I did,' said Alice: 'several thousand, I should think.'
     'Four thousand two hundred and seven, that's the exact number,' the King said, referring to his book. 'I couldn't send all the horses, you know, because two of them are wanted in the game. And I haven't sent the two Messengers, either. They've both gone to the town. Just look along the road, and tell me if you can see either of them.'
     'I see nobody on the road,' said Alice.
     'I only wish I  had such eyes,' the King remarked in a fretful tone. ....

       Apparently Lewis Carroll (Charles Dodgson) was quite happy for early theatrical adaptations to compound the two books. I, personally, prefer Through the Looking Glass (and what Alice found there). Too many filmed adaptations to count; the first appearing in 1903 the only copy in the BFI archives. Mostly bad Disney being one culprit as one might predict.

      The echo of Odysseus's wordplay/grammar used to escape from the cyclops appeals to me here.

          

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.