fototherapy

By GirlKojak

In a Wibbly Wobbly World of it's Own

The clarifying, lustrous acoustic of Gateshead's gleaming architectural icon ... ideally proportioned for audience comfort and sound, which allows you to hear the quietest pianissimo and contains, to thrilling effect, the most ear-splitting fortissimo.

(Sunday Times, July 2011)


I had intended to blip reflections in the windows of the outside of The Sage, Gateshead, but by the time I had got there the weather had changed from bright sunshine to dark and rainy. So here is the inside, instead. I was trying to capture the sense of vastness about the place and the amazing architecture as well as the amazing views (here of the Tyne Bridge). It was around 5:30 when I arrived, and while there was nothing on in either concert hall the bar, restaurant and cafe were open and I had them all practically to myself. I had a delicious salmon, new potato and green bean salad with tarragon and mustard dressing. Yum!

Here is a bit of north-eastern folk from the Sage. They have various degree courses taught from the Sage including one on folk music, and they do lots of other work to promote and teach folk music especially local songs and instruments. Kathryn Tickell (the pipes player in the video) is very involved with this, as well as being a wonderfully talented musician herself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.