Plus ça change...

By SooB

Two out of three ain't bad

It seems that every Thursday, one of my three 'teaching' sessions is a total disaster. Today it was the lunch time one, which leaves the day on a bit of a low. This morning with the little ones we looked at opposites, including glueing some bits of paper in their exercise books - which always puts them in a good mood - and finishing up with my version of Bruce Forsyth's Play Your Cards Right (can't do links in Lightroom, will add one later if I can for those unfortunate enough never to have come across it). It went across enormously well - with just the right amount of shouting, cheering and leaping up in joy. I had to cheat a little bit to make sure everyone 'won' once and was quite delighted, to be honest, that not one child asked "What have we won?" (Coming up with a caravan or a speedboat might have been tricky.)

But at lunchtime I took in a few stories from BBC Newsround - carefully selected after an hour's searching to appeal to kids. And all I had was a barrage of mockery at my lame attempts to communicate in French, and derision at my choice of material (apparently The Wanted are definitely not cool, but One Direction are) so I just calmly apologised for not having chosen something they were interested in, pointed out that I had spent a lot of time preparing it, but that if they weren't interested then I had much better things to do with my time. So we stopped early. At this point, of course, they were suddenly very concerned, since they knew their teacher would want to know why we had finished so early. But when the class swot starts cheeking you, I think you have to call it a day. I'm not paid to do it, I put a lot of work into it, I had Mr B at home waiting for me to help him with something rather urgent, and a sick son to look after. Perhaps next term they'll be more involved. Perhaps next term I'll stop doing it.

Anyway, with that mini-rant over, the rest of the day was spent catching up with what I should have spent the morning doing, cuddling a poorly boy, and shopping for carneval tomorrow (fancy dress). That's the subject of the photo since, obviously, it would be too simple to just buy costumes, so mine and TallGirl's are either made from scratch or modifications. Mine involves a child's t-shirt (I think they make children bigger nowadays). The colours above are not fabulously accurate - I had trouble with the white balance. But they're close. CarbBoy (if fit) and MrB will be in national dress, and TallGirl will be dressed as someone who I'm fairly sure has never before featured in a school carneval parade...

So, prizes of smugness and virtual glory to anyone who can guess either:

1. Who will I be tomorrow?

2. Who will TallGirl be tomorrow?

3. What percentage of my family will be wearing skirts/dresses tomorrow?

(Of course, it'll probably rain and be called off.)

(Yesterday is backblipped. It's a pretty flower, to save those of you bored already with pretty flowers from going to all the trouble of clicking back.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.