Banoffee

It’s PY’s birthday. I really feel that I can never delivery the birthday experiences that I get in return. It’’s hard because the bar is set very hight.  But today I booked The Hut at Colwell Bay. To be fair that’s what I was told I should do but I am really glad I did because it’s such a lovely place. 


Last Sunday I got a text message from the restaurant asking the usual things that mean I have to confirm the booking. I added a note that it was PY’s birthday and a glass of complimentary bubbles was delivered just after we had taken our seats. But to imagine the what kind of place we were visiting is like, the question that asked if I wished to be picked up by the private boat service from my mooring in the bay, probably best describes it. I can only imagine the target customer comes by boat (or, as we learned, more exclusive guests come by helicopter and are picked from some location nearby). We did watch them build the temporary restaurant jetty yesterday.

Sadly, I am not a restaurant critic. I don’t have the right words to describe the experience. I can tell you that we were lucky, this opening week meant it wasn’t very busy and we had a window seat to both sit in awe of the view and watch the patrons who did arrive by boat, but I can’t describe how delicious the food was. I can tell you that the deconstructed banoffee pie was an amazing end to a wonderful meal.  PY raved about the Octopus starter but I loved the crab straws for starter, our fish and beef for mains were wonderful.  If I could afford it, I’d also come by boat for the food.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.