Two steps forward...

By stevvi

Hoverfly

Feel free to ignore this but… those of you that are kind enough (or foolish enough!) to follow my journal here will know I love to periodically moan about becoming bored with photography, getting stuck in a rut, lacking imagination and stuff like that. I already know that to keep photographing interesting for me I need to take photos that I find interesting, photos that move me, and I’ve realised that, quite often, I don’t do that. I seem to take a fair few “pretty” photos and while they are superficially pleasing, much like a pop song, I find there’s very little substance to them, nothing below the surface. To be ultimately insulting, if I added a bit of glittery sparkle, I could see a lot of my photos being sold in places such as The Range… trite, throw away, eye candy, vacuous… pretty. That’s not to say that everything pleasing the eye is shallow but a lot of the time I think that may be my problem. Hrrmm... there you go!

Edit: Blip's resizing of images seems to have mucked up the eyes on this one a bit, which is a great shame really.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.