Doyley22

By Doyley22

THE WHALERS' TUNNEL - Architecture

The Whaler's Tunnel was built in the 1830s underneath the Round House jail.  The tunnel was built by imprisoned men and the limestone extracted was used to build the whaling station jetty.  The tunnel was to allow easy access of whaling products to High Street in Fremantle.  High Street begins at the town side of the tunnel and the other end is Bathers' Beach.  

I had a lovely time at the tunnel's entrance chatting with several people, I felt like a tour guide.  This gorgeous young man offered to dance for me - I had to ask him to give me a heads up when he was intending to dance.  :))
Perhaps he needed the exercise.

Many thanks for calling by the leaf I photographed yesterday.

Thanks to Bob for today's challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.