Launch control centre, interior

The launch control centre – necessarily underground and heavily protected against blast – was believed to have been destroyed when the project was liquidated, the tunnels and chambers having been collapsed by the use of shaped charges and then back filled with rubble (and, some will claim, the remains of those who withstood the liquidation for so long).

Today I learned that this was a lie.  As with so many things surrounding the programme this did not, in fact happen.  These pictures, which I took late this afternoon provide conclusive evidence that the launch control centre was in fact never destroyed, and exists to this day.  It should not be surprising that the English government have lied about this, as they have lied about so much.

I could not, of course, have found this unaided: even during the official existence of the programme the location of the launch control centre was a closely-guarded secret. I was very obviously led to the entrance (see additional photograph for details of the dual blast doors at the entrance), and the doors left open for me, by those who now occupy the site, and who, in some strange way, I now call my friends.  Still I have not seen them other than in peripheral vision, but we are now unambiguously collaborating in this exploration.

As can be seen from the photograph the site is in good condition.  I was not allowed into the control rooms themselves – perhaps for fear of contamination – but though thick laminated-glass windows I could see ranks of desks and equipment, much or all of which was intact and some clearly active.

I do not know what happens next: what the occupants' plan is.  But I feel, for the first time in a decade, hope.  The vile johnsonites with their less-than-dogwhistle fascism and their slightly less vile precursors in government have lied to us for long enough: their just reward for what they have done will come, and it will come soon I feel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.