Mocktail

I’ve only drunk alcohol on a couple of occasions this year, and I’ve really been enjoying a mocktail of late. In this vein I could be found in late afternoon tapping on a laptop and sipping on a virgin mojito in a quiet corner of one of these cool colourful artistic hipster bar-cum-café-cum-hangout places in central Nairobi. Gugs discovered the only downside of mixing with the young and trendy the moment she was joining a work meeting when a bloke sat beneath her with a boombox, blaring out something offensively loud.

Today’s big news is that my residence paperwork for Tanzania arrived. It feels wonderful and exciting that I’ll have security to move in and out of there freely for the next two years, the period tied to my contract. A celebratory mocktail was very much in order, followed by a burrito and some gelato. And I owe a celebratory mocktail to Mariam, a new colleague in Tanzania, who got the process over the line.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.