Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Marlborough

I woke up in the forest this morning!  It was a very long day yesterday as I landed from Boston mid morning, and after a brief stop at home, went straight to join my friend at a campsite in Wiltshire where she was already staying. I slept well last night!

It was a Bank Holiday today so my friend wasn’t working and was able to stay all day. The lovely site in Savernake Forest is just a mile south of the market town of Marlborough, so after a slow and relaxing morning we walked downhill through the forest and into town. Most shops were open and we enjoyed some browsing followed by coffee and cake in a new and popular independent coffee shop.

There’s a growing trend in the UK to top pillar boxes with creative crocheted ‘hats’. Yarn-bombing it's called. I last blipped one here. I love them!  There were several here in Marlborough. The two big ones are in the centre of town and then we found the little one in a residential street on the walk back - two policemen and a police car. Unfortunately one of the policemen seems to have collapsed with exhaustion!  Maybe he was at the end of his shift?  I recognise that level of exhaustion!

It was a warm-ish day but we were happy that we had cloud cover all day - it was uphill most of the way back to the campsite, so we were glad it wasn't super hot.

My friend had to leave by 5pm so while she packed up and got ready to go, I put the kettle on and put together a light meal for us right before she left. I was able to stay one more night, so I relaxed the rest of the evening, went for a walk in the forest and had a late dinner.

See the Extra photo for a few more photos - the path up from Marlborough, the view of the town half way there, other scenes from my evening walk, Alfie the Campervan, and a very interesting painted caravan on the site!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.