Topsyturvy

By Topsyturvy

Before

The main reason behind our trip to Glasgow was this morning's appointment at a shop selling dresses for mothers of brides. What an industry this has become. And what a lot of conforming you are supposed to endure. Basically, it seems that a MOTB should wear pastel yuck shades that make you look like you've arisen from the grave (I've ranted about this before, I know!). I would say 85% of the wonderful creations available were such things. Luckily, when I was close to despair and a tantrum, the day was saved by my fitting lady as we were having a last gander around the shop. Thank the good Lord for the sharp eyes of this lady and the soothing murmurs of LD! I now have a dress, albeit one that needs quite a bit of adjusting as it's long and needs to be drastically shortened, but the job is done and I can relax a smidgen.

D managed a bit of a walking tour of Glasgow whilst we were faffing and we had a good wander along Sauchiehall Street later to look for accessories (not successful but I've looked on line and that's where I'll be going on afraid. This is why the high street is dying; the choices are so limited and the walking is hard on sore feet with sore backs!). But I really liked the city and I'll be back in a couple of months to get the altered dress so more opportunities to come.

LH stayed at the cottage, manning the fort and Berry and avoiding the occasional downpour.

I should say that the blip is of a Glasgow University building (I think) as we landed right close by there to get to the shop. Must be 40 years since I was last in Kelvingrove - doesn't bear thinking about!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.