Birthday

Yes folks, its that day again.
On May 12th. 1935, I came into this world in a stone built terrace house with two rooms downstairs and two rooms upstairs and an outside lavatory. The bath was a metal affair on the floor in in front ofa coal fire. My father was a plumber and my mother had given up operating a loom in a woolen mill to be a fulltime housewife and mother.
Pause for violin music on YouTube.
Things have improved in the past 87 years andI have been very lucky in my life. Although I did two years National Service in the RAF I have never had to fight for my country. And I was the first in my family to go to University.
Long time Blip friends will know that normally on my birthday I climb Arnside Knott before breakfast just to prove that I am lucky enough to still do it.
But here we are in North Wales. So we found a circular walk in a hillside forest owned by the Woodland Trust.
It started well but after 500 yards we came to a place where recent storms had washed away the path and we were faced with a very steep muddy bank. Very slippery. Discretion won. In 87 years I have never broken a bone so I don’t want to do it now.
Retreat and take the path anti clockwise. It proved to be very good. A longer climb than Arnside Knott. So birthday challenge was satisfide.
Now home for lunch and later, after another walk, some cake.
Now every day is a bonus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.