organized chaos

By gypsysunrainbow

Man of the Hour

"And the road
The old man paved
The broken seams along the way
The rusted signs, left just for me
He was guiding me, love, his own way
Now the man of the hour is taking his final bow
As the curtain comes down
I feel that this is just goodbye for now."

It was such a sad day, my last day at Butler until August. I didn't think I would be that sad. When mom came to take a load of stuff home over the weekend, I thought I would be excited to go home. Then this day came and I was so sad.

This is our last meal together, which is funny because we never ate breakfast together, but this day we did. I was the first to leave, and I think that made it even harder. When I was getting ready to walk out of the cafeteria, Madie gave me a hug goodbye and wouldn't let go. She started crying, which, of course, made me sad. The rest of us walked to Starbucks so I could get a drink for my drive home then to my car. It was like a movie moment, which is odd because you feel those will never happen in your life, but it did. I walked down the line, hugging Meghan, Lauren, Reegan, and Jessica, then climbed into my car and pulled out of Schwitzer Hall parking lot for the last time with the whole group in my rear view mirror.

And so I drove, and I cried all the way out of Indianapolis. I used "Man of the Hour" by Pearl Jam because this was the song that was playing when I plugged my iPod into the radio.

I shouldn't be sad, though, because we'll all be living together again (in a new dorm, though) next year :O)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.