Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Action

Playing Blip catch-up once again!

A Saturday that had (almost) everything!

Took a bus into Falkirk to catch a train to Linlithgow and then continue my east-to-west walk along the Union Canal. My revelries were interrupted along the way by an unexpected encounter.

"Excuse me, are you a Blipper?" was the question that led to a most enjoyable blether for a few minutes with a follow contributor to this site, and also someone whom I follow and (for his pains) also follows my frequently delayed updates. Cheers!

So, with lightened steps I continued my quest, over the Avon Aqueduct (main photo) and onto Polmont. I've walked about 27 miles of the Union Canal since starting this particular enterprise in April and another five or six miles will get me to the Falkirk Wheel and the Canal's western terminus. But that's for another day.

From Polmont I caught another bus into Falkirk town centre and then I walked to the Falkirk Stadium to watch the local derby between East Stirlingshire and Bo'ness United in the semi-final of the SPFL Lowland League Cup (extra). It was a really enjoyable match, one in which The Shire had numerous chances to take a good lead into the second half, but didn't take them. Their 1-0 half-time advantage was overcome by a much-improved Bo'ness team who deserved their 2-1 win.

A bus into Falkirk, another bus home from there and a lazy evening followed. A man can only cope with so much excitement in one day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.