Come on you Spiders....

This is me giving the thumbs up while wearing a Queen’s Park FC replica shirt. (Baggy 90s version.) I’m looking forward to the Championship Play Off Final, first leg, which is on the telly tonight, albeit with commentary in Gaelic. I was raised on the tales of the gentlemen amateurs by my mum, who regularly went to Hampden with her dad. Hampden Park, built by Queen’s Park was the biggest football stadium in the world before the Brazillians built the Maracana in 1950.
     I’m hearing something in my left ear from the McFlannels radio show of the 1940s: ‘Come on Queen’s, don’t let the nesty Rangars beat you!’ We have never beaten the nasty Rangers in my lifetime, but we live in hope. Tonight is is Airdrieoneans we must vanquish.
    PS We invented passing football. (Really.) And crossbars.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.