Mill Road Cemetery

Mill Road Cemetery
Off to Cambridge today to see friend David. My chauffeur parked at the Grafton Centre (She was off to the hairdressers) and I walked to Davids House in Mill Road. After the visit I walked back down Mill Road and cut through Mill Road Cemetery to Norfolk Street where I was to be picked up.
Up to 2007 I had lived in the centre of Cambridge for all my life. I was quite familiar with Mill Road Cemetery. As a child I went with Mum to visited her Uncles Wills Grave. My Great Grandparents are there too. 
The last time I can remember being in this cemetery was when I was attending CCAT (Cambridge College of Arts and Technology) for a management course in the late 80's. I would go out of the college at break time and walk in the graveyard, a very peaceful place. 
The building in this image, I believe, was where the lessons where held. I could be wrong :)
It's changed a bit in the 30 years since then. Like a lot of 'old' graveyards it has been allowed to become a managed nature reserve. Much is overgrown, some wild flowers pocking through and I am sure in a few weeks this area will be bustling with wildlife too. 
This was my reason for going, to research the area so we can have a Cambridge Camera Club trip out there. There are a number of friends in the club that in the past have visited 3 of the 'Magnificent Seven' Graveyards in London for the wildlife and architectural opportunities. 
We know how to enjoy ourselves :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.