Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Yesterday I had a total melt-down at work.

Back at home in the evening I checked through all of the gazillions of job alerts that are sent to me every day. Typically they either require skills and experience I do not have or they are so mind-numbingly repetitive that a smarter person than I could write a little software routine to do the whole thing and there would be no requirement to rot a human brain repeating the task.
And joy! In amongst them all was one that looked like a good fit, so I sent off the variant of my CV with the most appropriate wording for that specific advert, along with a note to the fact that I was very keen, that I do not scatter-bomb my CV about like pizza flyers, and a little while later I received a message from the recruiter asking me if he could call me today. Well of course!
So this morning he rang me as I walked to work through the station car park and we had a good sound chat. He said he'd call the employer.
Well it was only a very short while later that he called me to ask if I could get to an interview on Monday lunchtime. I said yes of course and then booked a day's absence from work.
Meanwhile, and entirely separately, I formally declined the invitation to give my line manager a 360 degree review. A bit late because it's due in on Friday.

I am suddenly reminded of the hand gestures I employed during my first attempt to ask in Greek whether or not this flour was self-raising.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.