They want to control us

Margie is furious about the attack on reproductive rights by evangelicals in this country.

“It’s all about control,” she tells me. “It's not religion. Men want women to pay homage to them, to be dependent on them, to follow their orders and say thank you. But I’ll tell you something I’m sure about,” she goes on. “These old men are going to die, just like my ex-husband did, and their sons and daughters see the suffering they caused, and they won’t stand for it.” After a pause, “Stupidity won’t always win. There are a great many smart people in the world, and this male arrogance won’t control us forever. It’s poor women who will suffer most, of course, it always is. Rich women get whatever they want, they’re above the law. But there will be suffering. I’m spitting mad about it.”

We met indoors, in the community room at her apartment building, because it's pouring rain (again).

I asked her if she’s going to a demonstration on Saturday, and she laughed, “My keepers won’t let me get out into crowds because of Covid. You go, if you can, and represent me. Send me some photographs.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.