Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

Dorothy

This is another of my "in-character" captures from "The Peach Season" rehearsals shot over the period of a week or so. Dorothy is largely a by-standing narrator in the story, who watches it unfold as she chats to the audience. She assesses the various happenings against the tragedies of her own personal history. Dorothy is a Hungarian immigrant with a unique take on the contemporary Australian culture she finds herself living in and a source of much of the play's humour. By the way, some of you might recognise the actress. (psst. Don't tell anyone but it's Norma).

Time for me is at a premium right now. As a result I am able to do quick backblip postings but until the play is in performance, I'll only be able to visit a few journals here and there, each day. I promise to be playing my part again fairly soon now. 

The years catch up with us all it seems. This production has taken a lot out of us, such that I fear I won't be doing any more. For one thing, COVID has taken its toll. While Norma and I have escaped (so far), key people such as the leading actress, the director, the stage manager, the set construction manager, the front-of-house manager and the publicity manager have all been marginalised at one time or another and carefully planned rehearsal and production schedules have spent time in ruins. It has just made everything seem twice as hard as it should be, what with all the precautions that must be taken and the routine meetings and activities that must constantly be delayed, rushed or compromised. Yada yada yada. Sorry about the complaining folks. I'll be quiet now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.