Rock Soapwort

Now there are so many blossoms in the garden...
I wondered why this is called "soapwort".
Saponaria ocymoides is a smaler relative to Saponaria officinalis
Common soapwort is a cultural companion and has probably been planted since the Neolithic period. Because of the washing-active effect of their ingredients, extracts from rhizome and roots served as a substitute for soap up until the 19th century. Soapwort solution is used in restoration workshops to clean historical textiles and pieces of furniture.
The dried roots and rhizomes serve as medicinal drugs, more rarely the herbaceous plant parts of (common) soapwort. Traditionally, the parts of the plant have been used since antiquity as an expectorant for bronchitis with viscous, dry secretion. (*Wikipedia)

I visited a large gardening center. I was looking for one (!) new rose.
Let's say so: I will have a nice gardening day tomorrow  ;-)
( I can't resist plants, sigh)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.