Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Jai Ho

Shuffle challenge day 2; Jai Ho, by A.R. Rehman from the film Slumdog Millionaire.

I very nearly vetoed it, but it's only the second day! Then I Googled it and found out it means "let there be victory" (why did I not know that before?).

So, in the spirit of victory, here is Ed Clancy's gold postbox in the centre of Huddersfield. I braved rain, stubborn taxi drivers who would not move despite the fact I was standing there with a tripod obviously wanting to photograph the postbox, and many strange looks from passers-by. I prayed none of my son's friends would see me on their way to college, or I would never EVER be forgiven.

It's an HDR, which was necessary in the dingy light, and rain; I like how some of the red is now beginning to show through the gold, and also how it looks like it is glowing proudly and victoriously.

Try it large.

Happy Friday everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.