Grey Wagtail

G and I went for a walk this morning to Letheringsett. G had heard that the mill had opened a cafe, and very nice it was to sit outside in the sun watching the grey wagtails collecting insects whilst listening to the mill wheel turning. Please see the extra collage of an orange poppy, yellowhammer, whitethroat, and laburnum against the blue sky. I've also added a photo of a leaf with red 'spikes', any ideas what it is? A glorious sunny day, at 20C with full sun it was too hot for me and I could only sit out for an hour this afternoon. The poor blue tit chicks looks to be struggling in the heat too, and I bet it is hot all bodies rammed together in the bowl of the nest. They're at the stage where the larger ones 'body surf' on top of the others and get even bigger as that gets them more food. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.