Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

Embroidery

The first thing I have to say is that this isn't my embroidery, but I hope before too long to create something that bears more than a passing resemblance to it. I attended a workshop taught by Sammy Bishop of Paraffle (old Scots for embroidery) at Dovecot Studios where there is currently an exhibition of William Morris wallpapers, which I haven't yet seen, but plan to. This kit was designed to go with the exhibition. The workshop was billed as suitable for beginners, but it was a bit of a baptism of fire as it's the most complicated design that Paraffle produces. I think a number of YouTube videos may be required as we didn't cover all the stitches needed, and I didn't get the hang of all the stitches that we did cover. Thank goodness for YouTube!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.