Dominie

By Dominie

Lunch on the afterdeck

Mrs Dominie went out to lunch today with a friend whose husband died recently. Given the circumstances, I did not join her, and was let loose to forage where I may. Funny how often I plump for the Boatshed when I'm on my own; then again, perhaps not, because the fish'n'chips there is exceptional. Happily, my favourite, Blue Grenadier, was on the menu.

A front view of the Boatshed featured in my Journal on 9 April, and I'd promised myself I would blipcast the rear of it soon - and here it is. The deck is built out over the water and, as I mentioned previously, a colony of stingrays dwells underneath, long ago attracted by the scraps from the gutting tables behind the kitchen.

Fairly high winds were blowing across the Bay today, and the waters were too cloudy for the rays to be visible from the rail. You can see the umbrella sails were furled, too. Otherwise the Boatshed, and me and my fellow seafood fans, might well have been halfway to New Zealand by now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.