Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Hen Do

A long day at Victoria’s “Hen Do”. We started early, picking up the bride and her Maid of Honour and then went to Newmarket races. We started with food, well, the other ten in the party had food from the various stalls, I took my own as I was sure there would be nothing suitable for me; I was right. I did each way bets on all seven races, before the racing started, that way although you do not see the horse or know the odds, which would not help me anyway, you do not have to keep going back to place a bet. At the end of the day I was in profit by £11, picking two winners and two placed horses, in four of the seven races.

We then went to Zizzi in Cambridge for our meal which had its ups and down as they were slow with some folk's food and completely forgot the bride’s main course! My starter consisted of about twenty cherry tomatoes, some chilli flakes and rocket. When I asked why the Mozzarella had been left off I was told they could not guarantee that there would not be any contamination in the kitchen. Strange because they managed to make a gluten free pizza! I suspect someone doing the starters thought it needed to be dairy free too! However, they did rectify the errors by providing some Prosecco at the end of the meal, but by then three people were about to drive home there were some who do not drink alcohol, so not everyone could benefit from the wine.

Today’s picture is of some of the group. The bride, her Main of Honour, her Bridesmaid, her long-time friend and her brother's girlfriend. The extra is the winning horse after the race, chosen for my bet. Why? Because its colours were blue; we had all been asked to wear blue and this turned out to be an excellent choice.

The temperature today at noon today was nineteen degrees Celsius in my home village, but at the races it was much higher and a glorious day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.